Permission

When you use the Platform to import a dataset, you become its owner.

At first, datasets which you own are only visible to you. To allow another user to reference one of your datasets in a query, you can use the Platform to create a permission.

A permission does not grant access to your Bunker, and it doesn't allow access to individual records or to your original data. Each permission allows a single other user to query a single dataset. If you want a user to be able to reference more than one dataset you own, you will need to create permission for each one.

InfoSum Platform refers to two types of permission: sent and received. You'll find these two different types of permission on two separate tabs in InfoSum Platform.

  • When someone gives you permission to reference a dataset they own, that is a permission you have received. Information is "coming in" to your organisation.
  • When you give someone else permission to reference a dataset you own, that is a permission you have sent. Information is "going out" of your organisation (though only in aggregate and anonymised form).

Of course, this means that a received permission in your Platform is a sent permission in your collaborator's Platform - and vice versa.

When you create a permission, you define how the recipient can use your dataset. You will be presented with a series of decisions with many different permutations. For insight and activation datasets, these decisions are slightly different. Please see the permissions overview article for more information.